AF 22G vs 23D - Slide dependablity questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AF 22G vs 23D - Slide dependablity questions

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie (just joined) so If this is in the wrong forum in which to post this, I'm open to guidance and corrections.

Here goes: My wife and I are looking to get a used Nash of AF. I'm looking at units anywhere from 2000 to around 2015 model years.

After A LOT of research, I keep coming back to NW. While they're not perfect their design integrity, floor plans and overall quality seem to be the best overall option. We had landed on the 22G floor plan as it gives us the walk-around queen (great for getting up at night without having to crawl over each other to go to the bathroom). Sufficiently roomy, good storage, a pretty open floor plan, etc.

Then I came across a Nash 23D, a floor plan I hadn't previously come across in my research. REALLY like how the slider opens up the floor plan... seems like the cat's meow. That sent me on another trajectory in my research, that being sliders, how dependable or troublesome they are, etc.

I'm a pretty technical guy and have worked on stuff all my life. I know ALL sliders need maintenance, and ALL sliders eventually have problems.

So... these are the questions I'm trying to get answered:

- Are NW slide-outs pretty dependable overall?

- Are there known issues with larger slide-outs vs. smaller slide-outs?

- Are there certain years/models that stand out, or to avoid?

- Did NW use different vendors different years, and are certain brands (or types) of mechanisms better than others (i.e., Schwintek vs Brand X, etc.)?

- Lastly: LEAKAGE issues?

Thanks in advance to anyone who wishes to offer me info on any of the above questions. I would be grateful for all input!

--John
    Future AF22G or 23D owner!
    2013 GMC Sierra 1500, Z71 4WD, crew cab, 5.3L V8, full tow pkg

The Schwintek slide on my 23D has been trouble free. Good luck on your search!
    Dave & Sandy