Victron SmartSolar MPPT 75/10

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Victron SmartSolar MPPT 75/10

Good evening, I have on my camper 2 x 100w panels and the Victron SmartSolar MPPT 75/10 controller with Bluetooth and a lot of info on the app. Do really need one of the Victron battery monitors?
    Mark,
    Roseville, Ca

2009 AF 990 camper, 2.5 Onan, 200w solar,
    1500w inverter, Camco cat heater, foam mattress https://www.nroa2003.com/forum/core/...lies/smile.gif

2007 Chevy 3500 Classic LBZ, Aero Tank-62 gal.
    Bilstein 24 shocks, Torklift StableLoad.TorkLift Tie Downs. Edge CTS-2 Evo.Tire-Safeguard TPMS
    Reese Class V hitch, Front hitch.
    ’06 GL1800, ‘75 Norton, ‘73 Honda CB500k, ‘74Yamaha DT360, ‘76 Bultaco, 68 Yamaha YG5T, 99 KDX220.

I'm not a solar expert but what I tell folks is to get the battery monitor first to find out what kind of load history you have. Then build the solar system to fill that load profile.

But since you have the Victron MPPT controller and you haven't missed any of the data that the battery monitor can provide I would say don't get it.

I will also say that I'm kind of an information junkie - I want to know as much as I can about our battery system so I like having the Victron battery monitor but then I started with the battery monitor also.

The only thing I can think that you might miss is the alarm function on the monitor, I don't think the MPPT controller has that. I do know that the MPPT controller and the battery monitor talk to each other. I think the temperature is sensed by the monitor and sent to the MPPT controller.

My 2-cents is to not buy it until you really find a need or just want more info.

Bill

Bill, Mary, and Scottie
    2015 RAM 3500 Crew Cab, Long Bed, 6.7 Cummins/Aisin, SRW, Hensley BD-3 Hitch
    2017 AF 27-5L
    http://badges.fuelly.com/images/smallsig-us/719790.png

Comment