Dog Crate under Bed - Almost Done

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dog Crate under Bed - Almost Done

Thought I'd share the 85% done picture of my latest project.

Wanted a crate for our dogs for when we do things that they can't go with us. Tried to hire a few people to do the job and they would blow me off when it was time to put down the downpayment for the work.

Ended up buying a welder, some other metal tools, and built it myself. As I'm fairly new to welding there was a lot I learned and there are several places to improve.

We leave for a week trip tomorrow, so right now it's good enough to get us through the trip. When we get back, I'm going to pull it out and put a pan in the bottom, a sheet of metal in the back, and replace the plywood that is hinged under the bed. I built the crate to the size of the bed to give them as much space as possible, unfortunately the factory plywood is about 3-4" short of the length of the mattress. We didn't use the storage under the bed and just had a fold-up dog crate in the living room area; so this opened up a lot of space for us.

'19 Nash 26N (http://milesfromdone.com/category/rv/ - mods & projects)

I read your DIY story / photos - great project - you did a fantastic welding job!

I'd be afraid of my wife throwing some BBQ in the back of the cage and while I was crawling inside, locking me in .
    Travel Blog: www.rocklinroamers.wordpress.com

2015 Chevrolet Silverado 3500HD: SRW, Duramax / Allison 6.6L Turbo-Diesel, Extended Cab, Long Bed, 4x4, Reese 16K Hitch, 50gal In-Bed Fuel Tank (85 gals total)

2016 Arctic Fox 29-5T: Six-Point Leveling System, Fireplace, Two A/C's, Two Honda EU2000i Generators, TST "507" Tire Monitoring System, King-Size Bed, Progressive 'Hard-Wired' 50amp Surge Protector, 16gal Water Heater, Slide-Toppers, Power-Reel, 'G Rated' Sailun Tires.

Comment

Wow when you built a crate you were not playing around. It looks like it could hold a raptor.

29-5T on order

Comment