Question about Northwood Snow River water system

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Northwood Snow River water system

I'm still new at this RV thing. I own a Northwood Snow River and wondered about the water system. My specific question is about hooking up to a pressurized water system rather than using the holding tank. When hooking up to a water supply does the system pressurize due to the supply systems water pressure? I believe that hooking up to a constant water supply bypasses the pump. Is this correct? Also, when hooking up to a water system should I disable the RV's pump? Finally, does the water heater tank fill up due to the system supply pressure? Thank you.

Mike
    Northwood Snow River 266RD
    2015 Ford F350 6.7 liter Diesel 4 x 4

Hi Mike. Mike here.
    Yes, the city water will pressurize the system. Note that it may overpressurize the system so you MUST buy a pressure regulator to protect from too high of city pressure. We were in Salt Lake City at a KOA and they had 120 psi pressure. They would not rent you a site unless you had a regulator. Buy one and use it.
    Yes, you don't need the pump when hooked up to city pressure. Make sure the pump is turned off at the control panel.
    If the water heater tank is empty, then yes, it will fill up when you hook up to city pressure. But that's no different than if you used the pump to fill the water heater tank. Be sure to read the water heater's manual on how to set the air gap (head space) that the water heater tank needs. Also, if you want to use 120V to heat the water heater, DO NOT turn on the 120V element until you are sure the tank is full. The element will burn out very quickly if it isn't immersed in water.
    Quick way to check if water heater is full of water is to open the hot water faucet and run it until water runs smoothly. Having said that, you might also need to make sure your water heater isn't winterized. Not familiar with how to do that on a 266.